Monday Musings: March 4, 2019

Monday Musings: March 4, 2019

 

Reading Progress

The Dorito Effect: The Surprising New Truth About Food and Flavor22889816

Since my last update I have finished reading The Dorito Effect: The Surprising New Truth about Food and Flavor by Mark Schatzker. I found this to be informative and mostly enjoyed it. I did skip some parts because as a vegan it was hard to listen to him go on about how chicken taste and even had a dream about me eating chicken which was kind of horrifying. I finished another food health book called A Bone to Pick by Mark Bittman and it is about farming and GMO’s. I also listened to this on audio book because that is my favourite way to consume non-fiction. Continue reading “Monday Musings: March 4, 2019”

Monday Musings: February 18, 2019

Monday Musings: February 18, 2019

Dear Bookworms,

Happy Family Day to those who are in Canada and have the day off today. Hope you all have a lovely day with your family. And Happy Presidents Day to everyone in the U.S.A. For those of you who don’t have today off I hope you have a happy Monday as well.

Over the weekend I found out some exciting bookish news that I am can’t wait to share with you all. But first I will share my reading progress.

Reading Progress

I’m currently listening to The Dorito Effect: The Surprising New Truth about Food and Flavor by Mark Schatzker. I am a health nut and love reading books about food and the impact it has on us and the earth. I am almost done this one and it has introduced me to some interesting facts about food flavour that I didn’t know before. Continue reading “Monday Musings: February 18, 2019”

Monday Musing February 11, 2019

Monday Musing February 11, 2019

Dear Bookworms,

I hope everyone is have a great Monday. 🙂 I am back with my second post of Monday musings where I just share my thoughts on books I’m reading or just finished. I will also plan on sharing bookish news I’ve come across recently.

Reading Progress

I finished reading An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lepena and I liked it but wasn’t shocked by the plot twist at the end. I will have my review up soon for this.

I finished reading King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard on Saturday. I mostly listened to this on audio book until my time came up and had to delete it off overdrive. Most of what I listened to didn’t quite sink in but I got the gist of it. I won’t start the final book right away I think I will get to it next month though.

I started reading Shadow and Bone this weekend and am half way through it, I hope to finished it tomorrow. I don’t own the second book but I have requested a hold on it at my library and should be able to pick it up tomorrow. So far am liking Shadow and Bone it is an easy read and like the world and the darkling character.

New Releases February 12 

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

 

The Sisterhood by A.J Grainger

Seventeen-year-old Lil stumbles across a dangerous secret while searching for her missing sister in this gripping thriller that’s perfect for fans of The Darkest Corners and The Third Twin.

Seventeen-year-old Lil’s heart was broken when her sister Mella disappeared. There’s been no trace or sighting of her since she vanished, so when Lil sees a girl lying in the road near her house she thinks for a heart-stopping moment that it’s Mella.

The girl is injured and disorientated and Lil has no choice but to take her home, even though she knows something’s not right. The girl claims she’s from a peaceful community called The Sisterhood of the Light, but why then does she have strange marks down her arms, and what—or who—is she running from?

Nick and June Were Here by Shalanda Stanley

Nick and June were best friends for years, until their relationship suddenly turned into something more. Now, June is coping with a new diagnosis of schizophrenia, a secret she asked Nick to keep for too long. Between managing her symptoms and her parents, June is just trying to keep it together. Nick is a reluctant car thief, supporting his aunt with the money and focusing on his art whenever he can.

But when June’s condition sends her to the hospital and Nick’s latest crime threatens to land him in prison, the two decide to run away. When the world is trying to tear them apart, can Nick and June find a way to stay together?

Movie Adaptations

Black Leopard, Red Wolf by Marlon James was just release last week and has already been acquired for movie rights by Michael B. Jordan. I’m excited by this news am a fan of Micahel B. Jordan from Friday Night Lights TV show. He hasn’t announced that he will star in it but I hope so. Need to pick this book up soon.

The Witches by Ronald Dahl is being turned into a movie again starring Anne Hathaway as the Grand High Witch. Not sure who will be playing the boy I’m not sure if they have casted the role yet. Guillermo del Toro is a producer on the film. It has a release date of October 2020. Love Ronald Dahl growing up so am excited for this film adaptation.

Thanks for stopping by. Let me know what bookish news your excited about.

Bookish Matters

 

 

Monday Musings February 4, 2019

Monday Musings February 4, 2019

Dear Bookworms,

I hope everyone had a great reading weekend, I had a nice weekend but didn’t get that much reading done. I finished reading The Paris Winter by Imogen Robertson and made a little progress on An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena.

Reading Progress

I finished two non-fiction audio books last week, The Confidence Code by Katty Kay and Clairshipman and The $100 Startup by Chris Gillebeau. I recommend The Confidence Code if you are struggling with confidence or are unsure of yourself.  And if you are interested in being in entrepreneur you should read The $100 Startup. I want to read it again but this time I will read it. Continue reading “Monday Musings February 4, 2019”

WWW// Wednesday March 28, 2018

WWW// Wednesday March 28, 2018

WWW Wednesday is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words! It’s fun and easy to participate all you have to do is answer the following 3 questions.

 

What are you currently reading?

I am still currently reading The Pursuit of Pearls by Jane Thynne and I am on page 195 of 485. I have to say it is slow going and not quite the page-turner I was expecting. My current audiobook is The Truth According To Us by Annie Barrows I just started this while on my way to work and can’t really tell you my opinion so far.

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

I finished reading A Wrinkle in Time on the weekend and it was a nice easy read. I found the concept of a wrinkle in time interesting but it won’t be a favourite. I felt it was missing something. I finished listening to Fast Food Genocide: How Processed Food is Killing Us And What We Can Do About It by Joel Fuhrman, M.D. I am a health nut so I found this to be a great read. It is terrible what corporations can get away with and it does feel like they are killing us slowly for greed.

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday

What do you think you will read next?

I still plan on reading The Nightmare by Lars Kepler next.

WWW Wednesday

What are your recent and current reads?

Bookish Matters

 

WWW Wednesday March 21, 2018

WWW Wednesday March 21, 2018

WWW Wednesday is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words! It’s fun and easy to participate all you have to do is answer the following 3 questions.

What are you currently reading?

I have a few books on the go that I recently started and therefore don’t have many thoughts to share. A Wrinkle in Time is a book I could read in one sitting but have been reading it slowly while on lunch. The Murray family is interesting and have been enjoying the read. I am about 100 pages into The Prusuit of Pearls and have also been enjoying it. Just started the audiobook for The Eight last night and I WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

I finished listening to Her Evey Fear by Peter Swanson and really enjoyed this creepy psychological thriller. Refuge by Dina Nayeri was an enlightening read about life as an Iranian refugee. I liked reading about the complex relationship between Nilo and her father. WWW Wednesday

www-wednesday-march-21 (2)

What do you think you will read next?

I really want to get to The Nightmare next because I want to continue on with the Lars Kepler series and this is my TBR jar pick for March.

WWW Wednesday

What books have you recently read/finished?

Bookish Matters

WWW// Wednesday March 14, 2018

WWW Wednesday is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words! It’s fun and easy to participate all you have to do is answer the following 3 questions.

www wednesday

What are you currently reading?

www wednesday

I will be finished this one today, I only have three chapters left. I have really enjoyed this book and was interesting to read about life in Iran. And about daughter/father relationships.

www wednesday

I started listening to this audiobook yesterday. I have never heard or watched her youtube videos but I will have to check them out because I am liking her book so far.

What did you recently finish reading?

www wednesday

At first I wasn’t too sure about this one but ended up quite enjoying it. The friendship between Vera and Noel was heartwarming.

What do you think you will read next?

www wednesday

I never read this as a child and have heard only great things and with the movie out now I figure it’s about time.

www wednesday

This will be my next audiobook read. Yesterday I received a notification that my digital hold is now available.

Let me know your answers to WWW Wednesday. 😊

Bookish Matters